Antelope Valley School District

Math graphic with math symbols

 

Mathematics as a way of Thinking

It is the philosophy of the Mathematics Department of Highland High School that mathematics is essential to the education of all students and that all students can and must learn mathematics. We in the department feel that it is our responsibility to challenge all students to achieve high standards and to support them in this endeavor. It is therefore our obligation to encourage students at every academic level to recognize high quality work and strive to produce it.

In addition to the acquisition of a body of mathematical knowledge, successful completion of any HHS mathematics course requires the demonstrated ability to:

  • Solve problems,
  • Think critically,
  • Communicate effectively in mathematics
  • Connect mathematics with the real world,
  • Work effectively in groups, and
  • Use technology as a tool.

Although levels will vary from course to course, successful completion of any mathematics course at HHS requires the following:

  • Regular and prompt class attendance,· Consistent and timely completion of daily homework assignments,
  • Maintenance of a notebook or binder
  • Completion of at least one long-term project connecting concepts studied in the classroom to the real world, and
  • Successful performance on performance-based assessment tasks, tests, quizzes, and exams.

“Of all pre-college curricula, the highest level of mathematics one studies in secondary school has the strongest continuing influence on bachelor’s degree completion.”

“Finishing a course beyond the level of Algebra 2 more than doubles the odds that a student who enters post-secondary education will complete a bachelor’s degree program.”

Math Department Grading Policies

Mathematics Flow Chart

Math Flowchart

 

MATH DEPARTMENT STAFF

SUBJECT(S) TEACHER EMAIL
Algebra 2 - AP Calculus (AB) - AP Calculus (BC) Joseph Antone jcantone@avhsd.org
Algebra 1 - Intro to Prob. & Stats - AP Stats Paulette Arispe parispe@avhsd.org
Algebra 1 - Algebra 2 - ELD Coordinator Claudia Basulto cbasulto@avhsd.org
Algebra 1 - Geo/Trig - Trig/PreCalc - Inst. Partner Mike Bellavia mbellavia@avhsd.org
Algebra 2 - Alg. 2/Trig Honors - AVID 2 - Inst. Partner Michelle Cannon mcannon@avhsd.org
Algebra 2 - Geometry Chautauqua Grose cgrose@avhsd.org
AP Calculus (AB) - Trig/PreCalc - QRAT Christine Miller cmiller@avhsd.org
Algebra 1 - Algebra 2 Melissa Morgan mmmorgan@avhsd.org
Geometry Cindy Noriega cnoriega@avhsd.org
Algebra 2 Ryan Yancey ryancey@avhsd.org
     
     
DEPT. CHAIRS:  Mike Bellavia  mbellavia@avhsd.org  & Michelle Cannon  mcannon@avhsd.org
ADMIN:  AP Jennifer Griffey  jengriffey@avhsd.org

 

incoming 9th grade student information

Parents!  Please view the informational slideshow about our Math Department for your incoming 9th grade students!

Math Department Information Presentation