Antelope Valley School District

Mathematics

Course Sequencing Flow Chart

flowchart p 1flowchart p 2

Department Members

Arispe, Paulette 514 parispe@avhsd.org  
Basulto, Claudia 117 cbasulto@avhsd.org
Bell, Nathan 130 nrbell@avhsd.org    
Bellavia, Mike 523 mbellavia@avhsd.org
Cannon, Michelle 530 mcannon@avhsd.org
Contatore, Nick 528 ncontatore@avhsd.org
Cramer, Elizabeth 515 ecramer@avhsd.org
Duke, Debbie 525 dduke@avhsd.org  
Hines, John 112 jhines@avhsd.org  
Miller, Christine 524 cmiller@avhsd.org  
Palmer, Chad 127 cpalmer@avhsd.org  
Shappee, Andrea 125 ashappee@avhsd.org
Walsh, Tom 516 twalsh@avhsd.org  

Mathematics as a way of Thinking

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS: Mike Bellavia & Christine Miller

It is the philosophy of the Mathematics Department of Highland High School that mathematics is essential to the education of all students and that all students can and must learn mathematics. We in the department feel that it is our responsibility to challenge all students to achieve high standards and to support them in this endeavor. It is therefore our obligation to encourage students at every academic level to recognize high quality work and strive to produce it.

In addition to the acquisition of a body of mathematical knowledge, successful completion of any HHS mathematics course requires the demonstrated ability to:

  • Solve problems,
  • Think critically,
  • Communicate effectively in mathematics
  • Connect mathematics with the real world,
  • Work effectively in groups, and
  • Use technology as a tool.

Although levels will vary from course to course, successful completion of any mathematics course at HHS requires the following:

  • Regular and prompt class attendance,· Consistent and timely completion of daily homework assignments,
  • Maintenance of a notebook or binder
  • Completion of at least one long-term project connecting concepts studied in the classroom to the real world, and
  • Successful performance on performance-based assessment tasks, tests, quizzes, and exams.

“Of all pre-college curricula, the highest level of mathematics one studies in secondary school has the strongest continuing influence on bachelor’s degree completion.”

“Finishing a course beyond the level of Algebra 2 more than doubles the odds that a student who enters post-secondary education will complete a bachelor’s degree program.”

Summer AP Assignment

Thank you for signing up to take an AP course and in particular AP STATS! I am looking forward to again teaching AP Statistics this upcoming school year. This class often feels like it is easy regarding the mathematical procedures as most are completely do-able via a TI-84 graphing calculator. However, there is quite a bit of writing and explanation of the purpose behind the use of the procedure, therein lies the greatest difficulty for most.

The following pages of the fundamentals you will need for class; most of which was covered in previous math courses. Please do this packet in a spiral notebook, which will be collected on the second day of class. It is recommended that you use the graph paper spiral because you will be doing many graphs and pictures. You need to take notes on ALL sections and COMPLETE #1-35 ALL. You do NOT need to write out each problem but please write out the title of each.

You are REQUIRED to have a graphics display calculator. The book we will be using is based on the TI-84 Plus CE, so that is what I HIGHLY recommend; I am familiar with this calculator as well. You can find good deals during the summer months prior to the beginning of school when there are sales. You may also want to look online as many students may sell theirs right after testing.

The above assignment will be due the 2nd day of class and there will be a quiz within the first 10 days on this material. So try to enjoy your summer, get your work done, and get ready to read and explain what the meaning of the data is. It should be a fun but challenging year.

Peace out,
Paulette Arispe
AP STATISTICS
parispe@avhsd.org

Summer Assignment Pages

Tutoring

Day/Time Location Subject Teacher(s)
Monday
6:30am-7:24am
Room 523 Math Mr. Bellavia
Tuesday
2:45pm-3:45pm
Room 510 Math Ms. Arispe
Thursday
2:45pm-3:45pm
Room 524 Math Mrs. Miller (advanced math only)