Antelope Valley School District

Alternative Education Programs

Independent Study - On-site Continuation - Opportunity 

Independent Study is a program designed to help students be successful in school during outstanding circumstances.  If you are considering applying to this program, please first consult your counselor as there are certain restrictions and considerations that must be addressed beforehand.  If you have an IEP, please consult both your counselor and your case carrier before applying so they can go over the details of the requirements.

To submit an application & to print the required forms, please scroll to the bottom of this page.

2022-23 HIGHLAND HIGH SCHOOL COUNSELORS

GRADE ALPHA COUNSELOR EXT. EMAIL
9-12 A & SpEd Ms. Makeba Hale (Head Counselor) x371 mhale@avhsd.org
9-12 B - C & PSA Mrs. Tameiko Cockrell x373 tcockrell@avhsd.org
9-12 D - Gar & AVC Mrs. Lori Fimbres x372 lfimbres@avhsd.org
9-12 K- Men & E.L. Mrs. Angela Robertson x379 arobertson@avhsd.org
9-12 Mep - R & AVID Mrs. Cynthia Mesler x374 camesler@avhsd.org
9-12 Q - Si & RSL Ms. Cassandra Dumas x370 cdumas@avhsd.org
9-12 Sm - Z & Opp. Ms. Morgan D'Errico x279 mderrico@avhsd.org

 

INDEPENDENT STUDY - OSC & OPPURTUNITY STAFF

CLASS TEACHER EXT. EMAIL
Opportunity Richard Lear x244 rlear@avhsd.org
Independent Study Jeff Robertson x326 jrobertson@avhsd.org
On-Site Continuation Jeff Smith x402 sjsmith@avhsd.org
Independent Study Shane Sveiven x610 ssveiven@avhsd.org
On-Site Continuation Frank Tremonti x401 ftremonti@avhsd.org
Independent Study Esaul Viramontes x355 eviramontes@avhsd.org
Independent Study Pam Ziemann x324 pziemann@avhsd.org
       
 
I.S. CLERK:  Tamara Walters  twalters@avhsd.org  Ext. 653
 
DEPT. CHAIR:  Pam Ziemann  pziemann@avhsd.org
ADMIN:  Sajae Davison  smdavison@avhsd.org

 

To apply for Independent Study:

Step 1: Download and complete the Independent Study Application. (For Spanish, choose the Red Box).

Step 2: Download and complete both page 1 and 2 of the Master Agreement. (For Spanish, choose the Red Box).

Step 3: Download 1 of the YELLOW SRIC boxes (either the pdf or word doc) fill it out digitally and save it to upload. (You may also print it and hand write on it if you desire).

Step 4: Fill out the form at the bottom of this page and upload your completed documents.  If you need assistance with this part, please call our IS Clerk, Tamara Walters, at 661-538-0304 Ext. 653

Independent Study Application.pdf

Spanish-Independent Study Application.pdf

AVUHSD Master Agreement

AVUHSD Master Agreement Spanish

SRICForm.pdf

or

SRICForm.docx